Uniting Baptist

Higher Education

The International Association of Baptist Colleges and Universities enriches member institutions by stimulating and supporting a quest for high-quality Christian higher education. The Association is a voluntary organization of colleges, universities, and schools that lay claim to their Baptist history, heritage and relationships. It fosters intentional Christian education, while cooperating in the advancement of mutual well-being of each member.
We have 41 member schools consisting of over 100,000 students in 16 states and 3 countries. If you would like to join the association please email Ashley Hill at ashleyhill@baptistschools.org

Who is eligible to join?

Any institution may apply to the Board of Directors for membership in the Association by documenting the following criteria:

  1. A post-secondary institution of Christian higher education accredited by a CHEA (Council on Higher Education Accreditation) recognized accrediting agency appropriate to the mission of the school. International institutions should be approved by either their government or by an accrediting agency in their country recognized by CHEA;
  2. Status as a non-profit organization;
  3. Affiliation with or in cooperation with a Baptist association or convention;
  4. Identification of itself as a Baptist institution;
  5. Commitment to the principles historically held by Baptists.

After the Board of Directors makes its recommendation, the decision on membership is made by a majority vote to the members of the Association, guided by their interpretation of the above criteria.

IABCU Staff

  • Ashley Hill
    Ashley Hill Executive Secretary

    Executive Secretary, IABCU

    800 Lakeshore Drive
    Birmingham, AL 35229

    Phone: 205-726-2036
    Email: ashleyhill@baptistschools.org

  • Barbara McMillin
    Barbara McMillin President and Board Chair

    President, Blue Mountain College

    P.O. Box 160
    Blue Mountain, MS 38610

    Phone: 662-685-4771, ext. 130
    Email: bmcmillin@bmc.edu

Executive Committee

  • Ron Ellis
    Ron Ellis Vice Chair

    President, California Baptist University

    8432 Magnolia Avenue
    Riverside, CA 92504

    Phone: 951-343-4210
    Email: rellis@calbaptist.edu

  • Don Dowless
    Don Dowless Treasurer

    President, Shorter University

    Shorter University
    315 Shorter Avenue
    Rome, GA 30165

    Phone: 706-233-7201
    E-mail: ddowless@shorter.edu

  • Mike Hardin
    Mike Hardin Recording Secretary

    Provost, Samford University

    800 Lakeshore Drive
    Birmingham, AL 35229

    Phone: 205-726-2718
    Email: mhardin@samford.edu

Board Members

Thomas King

President, William Carey University

498 Tuscan Avenue, Hattiesburg, MS 39401
Phone: 601-318-6495
E-mail: pres@wmcarey.edu

Pat Taylor

President, Southwest Baptist University

1600 University Avenue, Bolivar, MO 65613
Phone: 417-328-1500
Email: ptaylor@sbuniv.edu

 

Steve Vernon

Associate Executive Director, Baptist General Convention of Texas

333 North Washington, Dallas, TX 75246
Phone: 214-828-5302
E-mail: steve.vernon@texasbaptists.org

Gary Cook

Chancellor, Dallas Baptist University

3000 Mountain Creek Parkway, Dallas, TX 75211
Phone: 214-333-5130
E-mail: mitch@dbu.edu

Jeff Iorg

President, Gateway Seminary of the Southern Baptist Convention

3210 E. Guasti Rd
Ontario, CA 91761

Phone: 415-380-1322
Email: jeffiorg@gs.edu

Brad Creed

President, Campbell University

P.O. Box 127
Buies Creek, NC 27506

Phone: 910-893-1205
Email: creed@campbell.edu

Thomas Brisco

Provost, Hardin-Simmons University

HSU Box 16200, Abilene, TX 79698
Phone: 325-670-1211
Email: tbrisco@hsutx.edu

Stan Poole

Vice President for Academic Affairs, Ouachita Baptist University

OBU Box 3761, Arkadelphia, AR 71998
Phone:870-245-5196
E-mail:pooles@obu.edu

Samuel W. “Dub” Oliver

President, Union University

1050 Union University Drive, Jackson, TN 38305

Phone: 731-661-5180
Email: doliver@uu.edu

Anthony Allen

President, Hannibal-LaGrange University

2800 Palmyra Rd, Hannibal, MO 63401
Phone: 573-629-3252
E-mail: anthony.allen@hlg.edu

Rick Brewer

President, Louisiana College

1140 College Drive
Pineville, LA 71360

Phone: 318-487-7400
Email: rick.brewer@lacollege.edu

Scott Bullard

Vice President and Academic Dean, Judson College

302 Bibb Street
Marion, AL 36756

Phone: 334-683-5104
Email: sbullard@judson.edu