Uniting Baptist

Higher Education

The International Association of Baptist Colleges and Universities enriches member institutions by stimulating and supporting a quest for high-quality Christian higher education. The Association is a voluntary organization of colleges, universities, and schools that lay claim to their Baptist history, heritage and relationships. It fosters intentional Christian education, while cooperating in the advancement of mutual well-being of each member.
We have 41 member schools consisting of over 100,000 students in 16 states and 3 countries. If you would like to join the association please email Ashley Hill at ashleyhill@baptistschools.org

Who is eligible to join?

Any institution may apply to the Board of Directors for membership in the Association by documenting the following criteria:

  1. A post-secondary institution of Christian higher education accredited by a CHEA (Council on Higher Education Accreditation) recognized accrediting agency appropriate to the mission of the school. International institutions should be approved by either their government or by an accrediting agency in their country recognized by CHEA;
  2. Status as a non-profit organization;
  3. Affiliation with or in cooperation with a Baptist association or convention;
  4. Identification of itself as a Baptist institution;
  5. Commitment to the principles historically held by Baptists.

After the Board of Directors makes its recommendation, the decision on membership is made by a majority vote to the members of the Association, guided by their interpretation of the above criteria.

IABCU Staff

  • Ashley Hill
    Ashley Hill Executive Secretary

    Executive Secretary, IABCU

    800 Lakeshore Drive
    Birmingham, AL 35229

    Phone: 205-726-2036
    Email: ashleyhill@baptistschools.org

  • Ron Ellis
    Ron Ellis President and Board Chair

    President, California Baptist University

    8432 Magnolia Avenue
    Riverside, CA 92504

    Phone: 951-343-4210
    Email: rellis@calbaptist.edu

Executive Committee

  • Gary Cook
    Gary Cook Vice Chair

    Chancellor, Dallas Baptist University

    3000 Mountain Creek Parkway
    Dalls, TX 75211

    Phone: 214-333-5130
    Email: chancellor@dbu.edu

  • Stan Poole
    Stan Poole Treasurer

    Provost, Ouachita Baptist University

    OBU Box 3761
    Arkadelphia, AR

    Phone: 870-245-5196
    E-mail: pooles@obu.edu

  • Anthony Allen
    Anthony Allen Recording Secretary

    President, Hannibal-LaGrange University

    2800 Palmyra Rd.
    Hanninal, MO 63401

    Phone: 573-629-3252
    Email: anthony.allen@hlg.edu

Board Members

Thomas King

President, William Carey University

498 Tuscan Avenue, Hattiesburg, MS 39401
Phone: 601-318-6495
E-mail: pres@wmcarey.edu

Pat Taylor

President, Southwest Baptist University

1600 University Avenue, Bolivar, MO 65613
Phone: 417-328-1500
Email: ptaylor@sbuniv.edu

 

Steve Vernon

Associate Executive Director, Baptist General Convention of Texas

333 North Washington, Dallas, TX 75246
Phone: 214-828-5302
E-mail: steve.vernon@texasbaptists.org

Barbara McMillin

President, Blue Mountain College

PO Box 160, Blue Mountain, MS 38610
Phone: 662-685-4771
E-mail: bmcmillin@bmc.edu

Jeff Iorg

President, Gateway Seminary of the Southern Baptist Convention

3210 E. Guasti Rd
Ontario, CA 91761

Phone: 415-380-1322
Email: jeffiorg@gs.edu

Marshall Flowers

Vice President of Academic Affairs, Bluefield College

3000 College Drive
Bluefield, VA 24605

Phone: 276-326-4355
Email: mflowers@bluefield.edu

Lee Skinkle

Provost, Southwest Baptist University

1600 University Avenue, Bolivar, MO 65613

Phone: 417-326-1601
Email: lskinkle@sbuniv.edu

Don Dowless

President, Shorter University

315 Shorter Avenue, Rome GA 30165
Phone:706-233-7201
E-mail:ddowless@shorter.edu

Samuel W. “Dub” Oliver

President, Union University

1050 Union University Drive, Jackson, TN 38305

Phone: 731-661-5180
Email: doliver@uu.edu

Mike Hardin

Provost, Samford University

800 Lakeshore Dr, Birmingham, AL 35229
Phone: 205-726-2718
E-mail: mhardin@samford.edu

Rick Brewer

President, Louisiana College

1140 College Drive
Pineville, LA 71360

Phone: 318-487-7400
Email: rick.brewer@lacollege.edu

Bobby Hall

President, Wayland Baptist University

1900 West Seventh Stree, Plainview, TX 79072

Phone: 806-291-3400
Email: hallb@wbu.edu